MFA in Creative Writing - Fairfield MFA Book Prize

 Guest Judge for the Summer 2015 Fairfield Book Prize: Richard Hoffman 

heinzmanprize head shot

Fairfield MFA Book Prize Winner – Summer 2015:

Lynne Heinzmann for
Frozen Voices

Judge: Richard Hoffmann

Publisher: New Rivers Press


‌Fairfield's MFA program is one of the very few MFA programs in the country to offer its students the unique opportunity of entering a book-length manuscript to its contest. The Fairfield Book Prize is open only to Fairfield MFA students and alumni and is awarded once every two years.

The author of the winning manuscript will be awarded a $1,000 prize, a standard royalty book contract, and publication by New Rivers Press. New Rivers Press (NRP), which has published more than 330 books since it was founded in 1968, has two missions:

  • To publish the best new writing it can find by new and emerging authors
  • To provide learning opportunities for students

The Fairfield University MFA recruits, teaches, and graduates new and emerging writers who produce publishable book-length manuscripts in poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction. The Fairfield MFA and New Rivers Press have agreed to collaborate in a publishing partnership by conducting a competition among Fairfield MFA graduates and students in all genres to choose and publish a prize-winning book every other year.

NRP will edit, publish, distribute nationally, and market each prize-winning book. The finalists for the prize will be judged by a writer of national distinction.

Interested in joining Fairfield's MFA program? Register today!

2013 Winner: Chris Belden, The Floating Lady of Lake Towaba and Other Stories. Guest Judge: Dani Shapiro
2011 Winner: Nick Knittel, Good Things, a short story collection.  Guest Judge: Charles Simic


About Us →

Admission & Aid →

Academics →

Life at Fairfield →

Parents & Families →

Alumni & Friends →

Athletics →