Men's Rugby Club

rec_mrugby12l rec_mrugby12i rec_mrugby12f

Home of the Red Ruggers - Established 1963

Golden Anniversary

On the weekend of October 4-6, 2013 the Fairfield University Rugby Football Club celebrated the 50th anniversary of its founding durng  the fall of 1963. The 4 year planning strategy was implemented by the Friends of Fairfield Rugby (FURFC) in coordination with the Fairfield University Office of Alumni Relations.

A sun drenched Saturday enveloped The Lt Hans Grauert Memorial Field where 4 matches began the day's festivities. Both the Fairfield women's and men's alumni played spirited matches on the pitch. Over 600 spectators were in attendance, as finding an open spot on either the hill or the stone wall was not an easy task. As the alums competed, the comaraderie felt by all was once again on display as it was back in the "good ole days" when the participants were students at Fairfield.

While maybe only the players  kept  score on the field, those on the sidelines talked, laughed, cheered on and encouraged the competition throughout the matches. Following the alumni games, the Fairfield University women's club defeated Hofstra while the men's side dropped a hard fought decision to Marist College. Later that afternoon, a celebratory mass was held at the Egan Chapel of St. Ignatius Loyola.

The highlight of the weekend of celebration was Saturday evening’s gala dinner on the Bellarmine Lawn. Over 850 alums, friends and families attended the dinner, welcomed by Fairfield University President, the Rev. Jeffrey P. von Arx S.J.

In appreciation of their continued allegiance with the university, the Friends of Fairfield Rugby presented the university with a gift totaling $100,000.00. Inclusive of this gift, Mr. Chris Grauert, '68 presented a $30,000.00 contribution on behalf of the Grauert family, dedicated to the maintenance and upkeep of the Lt Hans Grauert Memorial Field.

The Department of Recreation sincerely thanks both the Friends of Fairfield Rugby and the Fairfield University Office of Alumni Relations for presenting such a special event.

Previously, in April, 2013,  Mr William Connolly, '69  was inducted into the Fairfield University Department of Athletics Hall of Fame. Connolly was a four-year member of our Fairfield University Rugby Football Club and helped mold the program into one of the top clubs in the college ranks. On the field, Connolly helped lead FURFC to one of its best years in school history when the 1968-69 squad went 12-3-1 and was a co-recipient of the Doug Ciacci Memorial Most Valuable Player Award

As team president during that historic run, he made his mark by organizing the dedication of Lt. Hans Grauert Memorial Field, the first collegiate field in the country that was dedicated to the sport of rugby. After he left Fairfield, Connolly remained active in the sport, founding the Essex Rugby Club in 1970 and serving as team coach. He also remained connected with Fairfield, serving as the chairman of the Fairfield University President's Circle and as a Trustee from 1992-98 and as a founding member and officer of Friends of Fairfield Rugby.

The home Rugby Pitch of the Red Ruggers is the Lt. Hans Grauert Memorial Field. Christopher Grauert '68 and his mother, Leila B. Grauert, donated the rugby pitch to Fairfield in 2003 in honor of his brother Lt. Hans Grauert, who was a naval aviator lost at sea during the Vietnam War.

During the dedication ceremony at the FURFC 40th Anniversary Celebration, Grauert read a letter written by his mother to honor the players and the esteemed tradition of hard efforts on and off the field of the Red Ruggers.

In the letter, Grauert's mother wrote, "Like everyone else in this room, Hans possessed the traits which personify every rugger - athleticism, good sportsmanship, and a zest for life. This rugby pitch resides in the softest part of my heart and will always remain 'God's Little Acre' to me!"

The tradition of Fairfield Rugby continues.


Fall 2014

In August, a new head cach, Marc Downes, was brought on board to lead the program on the pitch. Marc has played and coached on both the  local and international level of elite rugby play. Ben Kelley, cross fit training specialist, also with international expereince,  has provided his expertise in sport specific training at his local downtown Fairfield  facility, BK Athletics Inc. Members of both the men's and women's clubs began weekly cross fit training sessions this past September.

 Marc and Ben, as well as Austin Ryan (women's head coach) have established an excellent leadrship core on all fronts for the continued success of Fairfield Rugby.



Date Opponent Site Results
September 7 Montclair State University Away 62 - 14 (W)
September 14 Sacred Heart University Home 72 - 10 (W)
September 21 Hofstra University Home 99 - 3 (W)
September 28 William Patterson University Away 55 - 5(W)
October 5 New Jersey Insitute of Technology Home 49 - 15 (W)
October 12 Seton Hall University Away 88 - 5 (W)
October 19 Molloy College Home 40 - 17 (W)
October 26

DII Conference Quarterfinal vs Siena College

Home 102 - 17 (W)
November 2 DII Conference Semifinal vs Rensselaer Polytech Home 58 - 10 (W)
November 9 Conference Championship vs Vassar College Home 50 - 14 (W)
November 15 Regional Play-In vs Rowan University (1:00 pm) Home TBD


2014 - 2015  Roster

Last Name First Name  Year City State
Bates Aaron 2016 Cohasset MA
Benhamu Elias 2015 Fairfield CT
Bishop Tyler 2016 Orange CT
Boesch Hunter 2018 Middletwon RI
Bonn Alex 2018 Hingham MA
Borgognone Brett 2015 Woodbridge CT
Boudreau Jacob 2015 Basking Ridge NJ
Carlisle Ben 2016 Medway MA
Cartolin Daniel 2018 Cleveland OH
Castle Chase 2017 Poromac MD
Crasto Anthony 2018 Old Tappan NJ
Cucchi Alex 2015 Waltham MA
DeMeo Joseph 2015 Dobbs Ferry NY
DiRico Joseph 2015 Bellerose Village NY
Doherty Owen 2018 Hingham MA
Doherty William 2016 Hingham MA
Elmlinger Chris 2016 Elmsford NY
Fazekas Chris 2017 Stratford CT
Forgione Ryan 2015 Haverhill MA
Fossella Dylan 2017 Staten Island NY
Jamolawicz PJ 2018 Berkeley Heights NJ
Johnston Tim 2018 Westfield NJ
Korobow Aleksei 2018 Melville NY
Kueny Patrick 2015 Richboro PA
Lanzi Jared 2016 Bernardsville NJ
Massey Reed 2016 Boston MA
McDonald Anif 2016 Roslindale MA
Moraiz Joaquin 2018 Greenwich CT
Mueller Zack 2018 Stonington CT
Neugebauer Stephen 2015 Waldwick NJ
ONeill Connor 2016 Ho-Ho-Kus NJ
Park Richard 2015 Orange CT
Paton Justin 2017 Prior Lake MN
Riordan Michael 2017 Brielle NJ
Rogers Jr. Stanley 2015 New York NY
Strang Phil 2017 Monroe CT
Sweeney Brendan 2018 New Milford NJ
Taramelli Jeremy 2018 Shelton CT
Tobin Sean 2017 Brielle NJ
Tuozzoli Evan 2015 Trumbull CT
Wallace Christian 2017 Woodbridge CT
Wellman Jamison 2018 Broomall PA
Welter Matthew 2016 Madison NJ
Whitelaw Cameron 2017 Ridgefield CT


 Tri-State Conferenece:


 Photo Album 

rec_mrugby12a rec_mrugby12b rec_mrugby12c
rec_mrugby12d rec_mrugby12e rec_mrugby12f
rec_mrugby12g rec_mrugby12h rec_mrugby12k