2013-14 Calendar of Events

September 2013

Saturday, September 14, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open

Family Day activities - Explore Pueblo Pottery (1-4 p.m.)

The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Wednesday, September 25, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

Lecture: Dr. Bruce Bernstein, Independent Curator (formerly Executive Director, Southwestern Association for Indian Arts and Assistant Director for Collections and Research, National Museum of the American Indian) Pueblo Pottery from the American Southwest, in conjunction with Fire and Earth: Native American Pottery from New Mexican Pueblos (at the Bellarmine Museum of Art, June 27 - October 3, 2013)*

The Bellarmine Museum of Art, Diffley Board Room

Saturday, September 28, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open

Smithsonian Museum Day

The Bellarmine Museum of Art

October 2013

Friday, October 4 - Thursday, October 10

MUSEUM CLOSED - for installation

Thursday, Oct. 10, 7:30 p.m.

Exhibitions on Screen: Vermeer and Music: The Art of Love and Leisure

Tickets required.

Quick Center for the Arts

Thursday, October 10, 5:30-7:30 p.m.

Opening Reception: The Collectors' Cabinet: Renaissance and Baroque Masterworks from the Arnold & Seena Davis Collection (exhibition runs Oct. 10, 2013 - Jan. 10, 2014)

Free and open to the public

The Bellarmine Museum of Art and the Great Hall

Saturday, October 12 , 12-5 p.m.

Museum open

Family Day activities - Fun with Baroque Art (1-4 p.m.)

The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Monday, October 28 , 5-6 p.m.

Lecture: Dr. Jenifer Neils
, Case Western Reserve University, Ruth Coulter Heede Professor of Art History with a secondary appointment in Classics, Athenian Identity and the Athena Parthenos Shield.

DiMenna-Nyselius Library, Multi-Media Room

November 2013

Saturday, November 9, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open

Family Day activities - Portraiture (1-4 p.m.)

The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Thursday, November 28 - Sunday, November 31

Museum CLOSED for Thanksgiving Recess

December 2013

Saturday, December 14, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open

Family Day activities - Ruffs & Cuffs: Renaissance Costume and Culture (1-4 p.m.)

The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

January 2014
Thursday, January 23, 5:00-7:00 p.m.

Opening Reception: In the Wake of the Butterfly: James McNeill Whistler and His Circle in Venice (exhibition runs January 23, 2014 - April 4, 2014)

Free and open to the public

The Bellarmine Museum of Art and the Great Hall

February 2014

Saturday, February 8, 2014, 1-4 p.m.

Museum closed -- Family Day will take place at the Walsh Art Gallery and the Wien Experimental Theatre in the
Quick Center for the Arts.
Family Day activities -- The Art of Printmaking

Tuesday, February 25, 2014, 5:00-6:00 p.m.

Gallery Talk by Dr. Eric Denker, National Gallery of Art, Senior Lecturer. American Artists in Early 20th-Century Venice,  in conjunction with the exhibition, Reflections and Undercurrents: Ernest Roth and Printmaking in Venice (Thomas J. Walsh Art Gallery, January 23 - April 4, 2014), and In the Wake of the Butterfly: James McNeill Whistler and His Circle in Venice (at the Bellarmine Museum of Art, January 23 - April 4, 2014)

Diffley Board Room, Bellarmine Hall

March 2014

Saturday, March 8, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open
Family Day activities -- Daily Life in Ancient Greece (1-4 p.m.)
The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

 

Tuesday, March 18, 5-7 p.m.

Draw On!: The Cast Party

Come sketch works from the museum's Plaster Cast Collection. All necessary materials will be supplied. Free and open to the public.
The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

April 2014

Monday, April 7 - Thursday, April 10

Museum closed for installation

Thursday, April 10, 5-6 p.m.

Lecture by Bill Gudenrath, Resident Advisor, Corning Museum Of Glass. Venetian Glassmaking Techniques. Diffley Board Room in conjunction with the exhibition, La Ragnatela/The Spiderweb: Works by Giampaolo Seguso from the Corning Museum of Glass (at the Bellarmine Museum of Art, April 10 - June 13, 2014)

Thursday, April 10, 6-8 p.m.

Opening Reception: La Ragnatela/The Spiderweb: Works by Giampaolo Seguso from the Corning Museum of Glass (exhibition runs April 10 - June 13, 2014)

Free and open to the public.

Bellarmine Museum and Great Hall

Saturday, April 12, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open
Family Day activities -- All the Colors of the Rainbow (1-4 p.m.)
The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Friday, April 18

Museum closed for Easter break

Monday, April 21

Museum closed for Easter break

May 2014

Saturday, May 10, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open
Family Day activities -- Shapes and Patterns (1-4 p.m.)
The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Saturday, May 17, 12-4 p.m.

Museum open for Commencement weekend

The Bellarmine Museum of Art

Monday, May 26

Museum closed for Memorial Day holiday

June 2014

Saturday, June 7, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open
Family Day activities -- Art and Music (1-4 p.m.)
The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Monday, June 16 - Thursday, June 19

Museum closed for installation

Friday, June 20, 5-7 p.m.

Opening Reception: Rick Shaefer (exhibition runs June 20 - September 25, 2014)

Free and open to the public.

Bellarmine Museum and Great Hall

Saturday, September 1

Museum closed for Labor Day holiday

Thursday, October 2, 5:30-7:30 p.m.

Opening Reception: Gabor Peterdi: The Art of War (exhibition runs October 2 - December 19, 2014)

Free and open to the public.

Bellarmine Museum and Great Hall

Monday, October 13

Museum closed for Columbus Day holiday

Thursday, November 26 - Sunday, November 30

Museum closed for Thanksgiving holiday

Thursday, March 5, 5:00-7:00 p.m.

Opening Reception: Gari Melchers: An American Impressionist at Home and Abroad  (exhibition runs March 5 - May 22, 2015)

Free and open to the public.

Bellarmine Museum and Great Hall

Thursday, June 4, 5:00-7:00 p.m.

Opening Reception: Sean Cavanaugh  (exhibition runs June 4 - September 25, 2015)

Free and open to the public.

Bellarmine Museum and Great Hall

Thursday, October 8, 5:00-7:00 p.m.

Opening Reception: Hair in the Classical World  (exhibition runs October 8 - December 18, 2015)

Free and open to the public.

Bellarmine Museum and Great Hall

July 2014

Saturday, May 10, 12-5 p.m.

Museum open
Family Day activities -- Shapes and Patterns (1-4 p.m.)
The Bellarmine Museum of Art, smART classroom

Saturday, May 17, 12-4 p.m.

Museum open for Commencement weekend

The Bellarmine Museum of Art

Monday, May 26

Museum closed for Memorial Day holiday