President's Institutional Diversity Council

The Diversity Council was appointed by President Jeffrey von Arx, S.J. in 2005. The Council was organized to evaluate, review, and assess the institution's progress as it strengthens its multicultural education curricula and human diversity foundation and goals. The Council membership is drawn from all sectors of the University community. Each year President von Arx charges the Council with a topic to carefully consider and then submit recommendations and suggestions.

Statement of Charge

The Council's charged is to review the current curriculum and co-curricular activities for students as well as professional development experiences for faculty and staff for evidence of multi-cultural competence development, and for making recommendations to increase multi-cultural competence via these venues across campus.

2015 Membership

  • Amy Boczer, Director of Institutional Research – 3rd year
  • Giselle Acevedo, Graduate Student- Marriage & Family Therapy- 1st year
  • Janet Canepa, Director of Alumni Relations – 4th  year
  • Maria Curesky, Operations Assistant, Human Resources – 4th year
  • Mark Guglielmoni, Director of Human Resources - ex officio
  • Kamala Kiem, Assistant Dean of Students/Director of Student Programs and Leadership Development - Co-Chair- - 3rd  year
  • Nakia LeTang, Associate Director of Admission – 3rd  year
  • Christina McGowan, Assistant University Librarian – 4th  year
  • Christine Siegel, Associate Vice President for Academic Affair -  - Co-Chair- 2nd year
  • Chrystie Cruz, Assistant Director, Student Diversity Programs– 2nd  year
  • Ophelia Rowe Allen, Director of Residence Life– 2nd  year
  • Fr. Bret Stockdale, S.J.,Campus Minister – 1st year
  • JiaJun Gao (Keith), Graduate Student – 2nd  Year
  • Kerry Lusebrink, Program Coordinator, Disability Support Services – 2nd  Year
  • Guadalupe Ramirez, Undergraduate Student – 2nd  Year
  • Katie Magee, Director for Integrated Marketing and Analytics, Marketing & Communications – 1st year
  • Marianne Gumpper, Director of Graduate and Continuing Studies Admission, Graduate Admission – 1st year
  • Anthony Szymonik, Class of 20181st year
  • Ashley Cherian, Class of 20181st year
  • Troy Trauger, Class of 20181st year
  • Zavon Billups, Class of 20181st year
  • Jonathan Ajila, Class of 20181st year
  • Bruce Berdanier, Dean of the School of Engineering1st year
  • Dennis Keenan, Professor of Philosophy1st year
  • Jessica Alicea-Planas, Assistant Professor of Nursing1st year
  • Erica Hartwell, Assistant Professor of Marriage and Family Therapy 1st year
  • Claretta Mills, Class of 2016 – 2nd year

*All members (except students and ex officio) will serve three-year terms unless otherwise stated

PIDC Annual Reports

2006 | 2007 | 2007-08 | 2008-09 | 2009-10 | 2010-11 | 2011-12 | 2012-13 | 2013-14

Faculty, Students, and Diversity Report (2010) (For faculty and staff; you must be on-campus to access)